Test benches

For fuel cells and electrolysers
<
redox-flow-banner

Source: stock.adobe.com

The technology of the fuel cell is still new in today's application areas and requires test benches for continuous improvement, with which functionalities and operating strategies can be tested. Each of the different technologies of fuel cells and electrolyzers requires an adapted test environment. In the following, we will discuss the different types and their applications. Furthermore, we inform about the use of DiLiCo engineering's measurement systems in the context of test benches.

What is a test bench

A test bench is a device that can be used to test fuel cells or electrolysers reproducibly for their properties. These are equipped with extensive sensor technology and electrical controls in order to be able to image and record the behavior of the test object under investigation in a broad spectrum.

Currently, the hydrogen sector mainly uses development test benches. These require many and accurate sensors in order to analyze and optimize the measurement objects step by step, e.g. to achieve higher performance with the same use of resources.

Test benches can also be used for quality and functional testing of mass-produced products. The hydrogen technologies are currently in transition from semi-automated, to fully automated production. At this point, test stands are used for quality and functional testing. Depending on the application of the test bench, there are different demands on the sensor and measurement technology in the test benches.

Image: The sensor layer of the meter DiLiCo current density for baltic qCf integriegt into the cell frame of the baltic quickCONNECT fixture.

Pneumatic test bench

In pneumatic test stands, compressed air is used to perform mechanical work. For the use of fuel cells and electrolyzers, there is an extra for these applications designed test bench for a single cell. The test stand qCf - quickCONNECT fixture is manufactured and sold by baltic FuelCells GmbH in Schwerin, Germany. The use of pneumatics in the test stand ensures continuous uniform pressure. Thus, complete reproducibility of the test conditions is ensured. This allows different components of a cell to be inspected and tested under exactly the same test conditions. The pneumatic test stand is available in different versions and is oriented to the size of the cell area, cooling and current intensity of the cells to be measured. The following versions are available:

  • qCf FC 25 for a cell area of 25 cm²
  • qCf FC 50 for a cell area of 50 cm²
  • qCf LC high AMP for cells with very high currents and direct cooling

For more information on the test benches, visit the baltic FuelCells GmbH page.

DiLiCo current density for the baltic quickCONNECT fixture

For the special application area of the baltic test stand, DiLiCo has developed customized measurement technology that can only be used in the baltic qCf. For this purpose, an extra product series was designed for the DiLiCo current density measurement system, which adapts to the needs of the users. The DiLiCo current density product line for baltic qCf. Through this measurement system, the current density and temperature distribution in the cell can be measured and thus serves to accurately characterize the electrolytic cell or fuel cell..

Furthermore, the product series can measure especially high currents up to 6 A/cm². This has the advantage that with ever higher cell performance and the associated increase in current strength, the measurement system is excellently designed for the future.

Image: Pneumatic single-cell test stand from the company baltic FuelCells GmbH of Schwerin, Germany, with attached DiLiCo measurement technology for 25 cm² cell area.

Philipp Kuehne

Questions about the quickCONNECT fixture?

Your contact

Philipp Kühne

Phone: +49 (0) 391 - 555 698 94
Mail: contact(at)dilico.de

Maik Heuer

Questions about DiLiCo products?

Your contact

Dr.-Eng. Maik Heuer

Phone: +49 (0) 391 - 505 859 86
Mail: contact(at)dilico.de

Image: PEM test stand of the company inhouse engineering GmbH from Berlin.

Test benches of our partner inhouse engineering GmbH

The test stands of our partner inhouse engineering GmbH from Berlin are specialized in the application for PEM technology. Thereby, test stands for single cells and for stacks can be offered individually to the customers' needs. Furthermore, the test stands can be selected between three temperature levels for the PEM technology:

  • LT-PEM (Low temperature 30 – 80°C)
  • MT-PEM (Medium temperature 30 – 120°C)
  • HT-PEM (High temperature 120 – 180°C)

For more information on the test benches, service, control and software, visit the website of inhouse engineering GmbH.

DiLiCo measurement technologies for test benches

With its measurement technology in the field of single-cell voltage measurement, DiLiCo has set itself the goal of quickly and accurately acquiring and transmitting the measured values on the objects to be measured. Especially for development test benches, a very high measurement resolution is important. This is exactly where the DiLiCo cell voltage 48 and 96 product series come in. The version for measuring 48 or 96 cells stands out with the following advantages for use in test benches:

  • Very fast measurement interval
  • Very high measurement resolution
  • Lowest measurement deviation

The meter contributes to the assessment of the entire system and also provides information on how quickly individual cells degrade..

Image: The fast and high resolution meter DiLiCo cell voltage 48 for single cell voltage measurement.

Image: The DiLiCo current density meter for measuring current density and temperature distribution during development.

Furthermore, DiLiCo not only develops and produces measurement systems for the baltic qCf, but also tailors them for other stack manufacturers. The DiLiCo current density product line offers exactly these solutions, which is perfectly designed for use in research and development test benches. The use of current density and temperature distribution measurement results in the following advantages for your test bench operation:

  • Insights into local aging of the cell
  • Insights into gas and reaction distribution
  • Possible actions to increase efficiency

By using DiLiCo measurement technology, test benches in research and development can generate significant added value from the empirical values for operating strategies and for optimizing overall systems. Please feel free to contact us and we will advise you on your test bench project.

Where are test benches used?

Test stands for fuel cells and electrolysers are currently used a lot in research and development facilities. These include, for example, the Fraunhofer Institutes, universities and colleges, or the research and development departments of automotive manufacturers and suppliers. In the future, due to the widespread use of hydrogen in various sectors, many more users will be added.

What types of test stands are there?

There are basically two different types of test stands. The development test bench for development work of, for example, fuel cell systems, fuel cell stacks and also peripheral components and test benches for quality control and commissioning tests..

In the case of fuel cells and electrolysers, there are very different technologies, each of which has different framework conditions in terms of operating temperature, electrolyte or fuel. This also requires different types of test rigs. Test stands also differ in whether an entire stack or only a single cell is to be tested. Test stands for single cells are usually much smaller and more compact. The use of hydrogen in the test systems places further high safety requirements on the test rigs.

Test benches for fuel cells

Depending on the technology of the fuel cells, different requirements are placed on the functionality and components of a fuel cell test bench. A distinction can be made between a test bench for high-temperature fuel cells and a test bench for low-temperature fuel cells.

Test stands for high-temperature fuel cells in particular, such as the solid oxide (SOFC) fuel cell, which operates at temperatures of up to 600 °C, have a very special requirement for the robustness of sensor technology and peripheral components. In addition, fuel cell stacks vary significantly in size, i.e., the number of individual cells connected in series. This has effects on the applied voltage and current in the test system, which in turn has effects on the use of measurement technology for single cell voltage measurement in the test bench.

Test bench for electrolyzers

Electrolyzer technology is divided into different types of electrolyzers. Depending on the type of electrolyzer to be tested, there are different requirements for sensors and controls of the test stand. There are particularly large differences in the design of the electrolytic cell.

The test benches are precisely adapted to the type of electrolyzer. Thus, a change to another technology is seldom possible. In order to increase the degree of automation nevertheless, test rig manufacturers strive to cover as many technologies as possible with various products.

Contact form

I hereby agree that my information may be used to respond to my inquiry. Further notes: Privacy policy

* required

Prüfstände

Für Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseure
redox-flow-banner

Quelle: stock.adobe.com

Die Technologie der Brennstoffzelle ist in den heutigen Anwendungsgebieten noch neu und benötigt zu stetigen Verbesserung Prüfstände, mit denen Funktionsweisen und Betriebsstrategien getestet werden können. Jede der unterschiedlichen Technologien von Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseuren benötigt dafür eine angepasste Prüfumgebung. Nachfolgend wird auf die verschiedenen Typen und deren Anwendungen eingegangen. Darüber hinaus informieren wir über Nutzung der Messsysteme von DiLiCo engineering im Rahmen von Prüfständen.

Was ist ein Prüfstand

Ein Prüfstand ist eine Vorrichtung, mit der Brennstoffzellen oder Elektrolyseuren reproduzierbar auf ihre Eigenschaften getestet werden können. Diese sind mit umfangreicher Sensorik und elektrischen Steuerungen ausgestattet, um das Verhalten des untersuchten Messobjektes in einem breiten Spektrum abbilden und protokollieren zu können.

Aktuell werden im Wasserstoffbereich hauptsächlich Entwicklungsprüfstände eingesetzt. Diese benötigen viele und genaue Sensoren, um die Messobjekte Schritt für Schritt zu analysieren und zu optimieren, um damit z.B. höhere Leistungen bei gleichbleibender Ressourcenverwendung zu erzielen.

Prüfstände können auch für die Qualitäts- und Funktionsprüfung von in Serie gefertigten Produkten verwendet werden. Die Wasserstofftechnologien befinden sich aktuell im Übergang von der halbautomatisierten, hin zur vollautomatisierten Produktion. An diesem Punkt werden die Prüfstände für Qualitäts- und Funktionsprüfung genutzt. Je nach Anwendung des Prüfstandes ergeben sich unterschiedliche Ansprüche an die Sensorik und Messtechnik in den Prüfständen.

Bild: Die Sensorschicht des Messgerätes DiLiCo current density für baltic qCf integriegt in den Zellrahmen des baltic quickCONNECT fixture.

Pneumatischer Prüfstand

Bei Pneumatischen Prüfständen wird Druckluft zur Verrichtung mechanischer Arbeit genutzt. Für den Einsatz von Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseuren gibt es einen, extra für diese Anwendungen ausgelegten, Teststand für eine Einzelzelle. Der Teststand qCf – quickCONNECT fixture wird von der Firma baltic FuelCells GmbH in Schwerin gefertigt und verkauft. Die Verwendung der Pneumatik im Teststand gewährleistet einen kontinuierlichen gleichmäßigen Anpressdruck. Somit ist die vollständige Reproduzierbarkeit der Testbedingungen gewährleistet. Dadurch können unterschiedliche Komponenten einer Zelle unter exakt den gleichen Testbedingungen geprüft und getestet werden. Der pneumatische Teststand ist in verschiedenen Versionen verfügbar und orientiert sich an der Größe der Zellfläche, Kühlung und Stromstärke der zu messenden Zellen. Folgende Varianten stehen zur Verfügung:

  • qCf FC 25 für eine Zellfläche von 25 cm²
  • qCf FC 50 für eine Zellfläche von 50 cm²
  • qCf LC high AMP für Zellen mit sehr hohen Stromstärken und einer direkten Kühlung

Weitere Informationen zu den Testständen finden Sie auf der Seite der baltic FuelCells GmbH.

DiLiCo current density für die baltic quickCONNECT fixture

Für das spezielle Anwendungsgebiet des baltic Teststandes hat DiLiCo maßgeschneiderte Messtechnik entwickelt, die nur in der baltic qCf eingesetzt werden kann. Dafür wurde eine extra Produktreihe für das Messsystem DiLiCo current density entworfen, die sich auf die Bedürfnisse der Anwender anpasst. Die Produktreihe DiLiCo current density für baltic qCf. Durch dieses Messystem kann die Stromstärke und Temperaturverteilung in der Zelle gemessen werden und dient damit der genauen Charakterisierung der Elektrolysezelle oder Brennstoffzelle.

Des Weiteren kann die Produktreihe besonders hohe Stromstärken bis zu 6 A/cm² messen. Dies hat den Vorteil, dass bei immer höherer Leistung der Zelle und der somit einhergehenden steigenden Stromstärke, dass Messystem hervorragend für die Zukunft ausgelegt ist.

Bild: Pneumatischer Einzellerteststand der Firma baltic FuelCells GmbH aus Schwerin mit angeschlossener DiLiCo Messtechnik für 25 cm² Zellfläche.

Philipp Kuehne

Fragen zum quickCONNECT fixture?

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Philipp Kühne

Tel.: +49 (0) 391 - 555 698 94
Mail: support(at)dilico.de

Maik Heuer

Fragen zur DiLiCo Messtechnik?

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Maik Heuer

Tel.: +49 (0) 391 - 505 859 86
Mail: support(at)dilico.de

Bild: PEM-Teststand der Firma inhouse engineering GmbH aus Berlin.

Prüfstände unseres Partners inhouse engineering GmbH

Die Teststände unseres Partners inhouse engineering GmbH aus Berlin sind auf die Anwendung für die PEM-Technologie spezialisiert. Dabei können Teststände für Einzelzeller und für Stacks individuell auf die Bedürfnisse der Kunden angeboten werden. Des Weiteren kann bei den Testständen zwischen drei Temperaturstufen für die PEM Technologie gewählt werden:

  • NT-PEM (Niedertemperatur 30 – 80°C)
  • MT-PEM (Mitteltemperatur 30 – 120°C)
  • HT-PEM (Hochtemperatur 120 – 180°C)

Weitere Informationen zu den Testständen, Service, Steuerung und Software finden Sie auf der Webseite der inhouse engineering GmbH.

DiLiCo Messtechnik für Prüfstände

DiLiCo hat es sich mit seiner Messtechnik im Bereich Einzelzellspannungsmessung zum Ziel gesetzt, schnell und genau die Messwerte an den zu messenden Objekten zu erfassen und zu übermitteln. Besonders bei Entwicklungsprüfständen ist eine sehr hohe Messauflösung wichtig. Genau dort setzen die Produktreihe DiLiCo cell voltage 48 und 96 an. Die Version zur Messung von 48 oder 96 Zellen sticht mit den Folgenden Vorteilen für den Einsatz in Prüfständen hervor:

  • Sehr schnelles Messintervall
  • Sehr hohe Messauflösung
  • Geringste Messabweichung

Das Messgerät trägt zur Bewertung des gesamten Systems bei und gibt außerdem Aufschluss darüber, wie schnell einzelne Zellen degradieren.

Bild: Das schnelle und hochauflösende Messgerät DiLiCo cell voltage 48 zur Einzelzellspannungsmessung.

Bild: Das Messgerät DiLiCo current density zur Messung der Stromdichte- und Temperaturverteilung während der Entwicklung.

Darüber hinaus entwickelt und produziert DiLiCo nicht nur Messsysteme für die baltic qCf, sondern auch maßgeschneidert für andere Stackhersteller. Die Produktreihe DiLiCo current density bietet genau diese Lösungen, welche perfekt für den Einsatz in Forschungs- und Entwicklungstestständen ausgelegt ist. Durch den Einsatz der Stromdichte- und Temperaturverteilungsmessung ergeben sich für Ihren Prüfstandbetrieb folgende Vorteile:

  • Erkenntnisse zur lokalen Alterung der Zelle
  • Einblicke in die Gas- und Reaktionsverteilung
  • Handlungsmöglichkeiten zur Steigerung der Effizienz

Durch den Einsatz der DiLiCo Messtechnik können die Prüfstände im Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereich einen erheblichen Mehrwert aus den Erfahrungswerten für Betriebsstrategien und zur Optimierung der Gesamtsysteme generieren. Nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt mit uns auf und wir beraten Sie zu Ihrem Prüfstandvorhaben.

Wo werden Prüfstände eingesetzt?

Prüfstände für Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseure werden derzeit viel in den Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen eingesetzt. Dazu zählen beispielsweise die Fraunhofer Institute, Universitäten und Hochschulen oder die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilungen der Automobilhersteller und -zulieferer. Zukünftig werden, auf Grund der weiten Verbreitung von Wasserstoff in verschiedenen Sektoren, viele weitere Anwender hinzukommen.

Welche Typen von Prüfständen gibt es?

Es gibt grundsätzlich zwei verschiedene Typen von Prüfständen. Der Entwicklungsprüfstand für Entwicklungsarbeiten von beispielsweise Brennstoffzellensystemen, Brennstoffzellenstapel und auch Komponenten der Peripherie und Prüfstände für die Qualitätskontrolle und Inbetriebnahme Tests.

Bei Brennstoffzellen und Elektrolyseuren gibt es sehr unterschiedliche Technologien, die jeweils unterschiedliche Rahmenbedingung hinsichtlich Betriebstemperatur, Elektrolyt oder Brennstoff haben. Dies erfordert auch unterschiedliche Arten von Prüfständen. Teststände unterscheiden sich auch darin, ob ein gesamter Stapel oder nur eine einzelne Zelle getestet werden soll. Teststände für einzelne Zellen sind meist wesentlich kleiner und kompakter. Der Einsatz von Wasserstoff in den Prüfsystemen stellt weitere hohe sicherheitstechnische Anforderungen an die Prüfvorrichtungen.

Prüfstände für Brennstoffzellen

Je nach Technologie der Brennstoffzellen werden unterschiedliche Anforderungen an die Funktionalität und Komponenten eines Brennstoffzellenprüfstands gesetzt. Es kann zwischen einem Teststand für Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzellen und einem Teststand für Niedertemperatur-Brennstoffzellen unterschieden werden.

Besonders die Prüfstände für Hochtemperaturbrennstoffzellen wie die Festoxid (SOFC) Brennstoffzelle, die bei Temperaturen von bis zu 600 °C arbeitet, haben einen sehr speziellen Anspruch an die Robustheit von Sensorik und Peripheriekomponenten. Darüber hinaus gibt es bei Brennstoffzellenstacks erhebliche Unterschiede bei der Größe, also der Anzahl der in Reihe geschalteten einzelnen Zellen. Dies hat Auswirkungen auf die anliegende Spannung und Stromstärke im Prüfsystem was wiederum Auswirkungen auf den Einsatz der Messtechnikfür die Einzelzellspannungsmessung im Prüfstand hat.

Prüfstand für Elektrolyseure

Die Elektrolyseurtechnologie unterteilt sich in verschiedene Arten von Elektrolyseuren. Je nachdem welche Art von Elektrolyseur getestet werden soll, ergeben sich unterschiedliche Anforderungen an Sensorik und Steuerung des Teststandes. Besonders bei dem Aufbau der Elektrolysezelle gibt es große Unterschiede.

Die Teststände werden genau auf den Typ des Elektrolyseurs angepasst. Somit ist ein Wechsel zu einer anderen Technologie selten möglich. Um den Grad der Automation dennoch zu erhöhen, sind Prüfstandhersteller bemüht, mit verschiedenen Produkten möglichst viele Technologien abzudecken.

Kontaktformular

Hiermit erkläre ich mich einverstanden, dass meine Angaben für die Beantwortung meiner Anfrage verwendet werden dürfen. Weitere Hinweise: Datenschutzerklärung

* Pflichtfelder