DiLiCo current density for baltic qFc - Lifetime analysis on the membrane

Optimized for the baltic quickCONNECTfixture. Available in three different variants.

Application

Measure current density and temperature distribution within the cell over the active cell area. With the baltic quickCONNECTfixture from the company balticFuelCells GmbH.

  • Analysis of bipolar plates (flow field design), membrane electrode assemblies (MEA) and grouting concepts
  • Evaluation of operating strategies and aging effects.
  • Life cycle test on fuel cells, electrolyzers and redox flow batteries
  • Can be combined with electronic impedance spectroscopy (1D model to 2D model)

Technical data

Current density: Up to ± 6 A
Temperature: Up to 175 °C
Number of segments: Depending on version
Cell voltage measurement: 0 to 2.5 V
Communication: CAN, USB (via Adapter)
Connections: Up to 5 temperature sensors

DiLiCo engineering at the Hannover Messe 2022

Visit DiLiCo engineering at the Hannover Messe 2022. Talk with us about the latest devlopments in the area of DiLiCco current density.
Get in contact with us personally and arrange a meeting directly at the Hannover Messe.

A selection of our customers who already use the DiLiCo current density measurement technology:

Specifications

The DiLiCo current density product series offers a completely new price level for current density, temperature and cell voltage measurement for the baltic quickCONNECT fixture FC25/100 and FC50/125 thanks to a new, proprietary measurement method. The three variants of the measurement system offer optimal prerequisites for use in various applications. Whether high current densities (DiLiCo CUSTOM) or high temperatures (DiLiCo HIGH TEMP), DiLiCo offers the right measurement system for both measurement conditions. The third variant (DiLiCo CURR TEMP) offers the possibility to determine both current density and temperature distributions inexpensively and precisely. All meters in this product line feature additionally an integrated cell voltage measurement. Optional up to five temperature sensors for the media circuits can be connected for each variant of the measuring system.

.

DiLiCo current density consists of a segmented sensor layer consisting of current and temperature sensors, electronics for evaluating and transmitting the measured data to the customer's computer, and optionally, software for visualization and extensive evaluation of the measured values for current density (current strength related to area) and temperature. The segmented sensor layer is integrated between two cells, without direct contact to the gases and liquids. Each segment measures the current and temperature for a portion of the active area of the membrane electrode assembly. The area of all segments is equal to the area of the active reaction surface of the membrane.

.

As a result, DiLiCo current density reveals a two-dimensional image of the distribution of current density and temperature over the area of the membrane-electrode unit. The activity of the membrane, the design of bipolar plates, seals, and other components can thus be evaluated both in operation but also out of operation. During operation, conditions such as gas undersupply, thermal hot spots, and flooding can be identified, directly measure and visualize the correlations between humidification systems and cell performance, and measure the effects of one-dimensional imprinting of AC components by electrochemical impedance spectroscopy on two-dimensional measurement by DiLiCo current density closer to the active area of the cell.

Delivery

  • DiLiCo current density sensorlayer
  • Evaluation electric with software
  • External power supply
  • Instructions

User

  • User of the baltic quickCONNECT fixture FC25/100 and FC50/125

What is meant by current density?

Galvanic cells or electrochemical energy converters, such as batteries and fuel cells, generate charge carriers inside at the electrodes. These charge carriers move and an electric current flows to the conductor (cable), which is used to supply electrical loads.

But as the operating time increases, this current continues to decrease because aging occurs at the electrodes and electrolytes. Instead of providing electrical energy, thermal losses increase and increase the heating of the cell.

The current density is defined as current per area (cross-sectional area for current). The unit is given as amps per square centimeter (A/cm²). The background is the comparability of powerful fuel cells or electrolyzers with several 100 amperes per system and smaller cells with a few amperes.

.

What does current density mean for the operation of electrochemical energy converters?

The current density is a measure of the performance of galvanic cells, especially the electrodes on fuel cells, electrolyzers and redox flow batteries. The higher the value, the more electrical power the cell can provide. For the further development of galvanic cells, the values of current density and cell voltage, the two essential electrical parameters for evaluating the condition of galvanic cells, are important during operation.

In electrical engineering, the two values also form the basis of electrical engineering model descriptions of galvanic cells. For research and development, the spatially resolved current density measurement with its many current sensors distributed over the electrode area provides not only one current density value, but when viewed in the area (x,y orientation), many current density values, so that every area of the cell area can be analyzed.

Why it makes sense to measure current densities in fuel cells?

  • Identification of partial undersupply over the membrane surface, which can not be recognized by the cell voltage.
  • Recognition of local aging breakthroughs in certain membrane areas.
  • To compare different material and design configurations.
  • Evaluation of the contact resistance of bipolar plate, gas diffusion layer, seal and membrane-electrode unit for different contact pressures of the stack.
  • Statements on the quality of the gas distribution of flow fields.
  • Optimization of operating parameters by evaluation and adaptation of cell components.
  • Identification of flooding and drying conditions.
  • Data usage for modeling and extension.

What additional insights can the measurement of the current density provide?

Example: Successive flooding of the fuel cell within 60 seconds at a constant current after reducing the speed of the H2 recirculation pump.


The current density of the membrane areas at the media inlet increase by the value that the current density in the direction of the media outlet drops along the flow channel during the flooding. The membrane in the entrance area now makes up to 600 mA / cm² (previously 470 mA / cm²) compared to about 380 mA / cm² at the output (previously 520 mA / cm²). A connection between the speed of the recirculation pump and the changed humidity conditions in the output areas of the flow fields could be deduced.

Contact form

I hereby agree that my information may be used to respond to my inquiry. Further notes: Privacy policy

* required

DiLiCo current density for qCf – Lebensdaueranalyse an der Membran

Optimiert für die baltic quickCONNECTfixture. Verfügbar in drei verschiedenen Varianten

Einsatzzweck

Stromdichte- und Temperaturverteilung innerhalb der Zelle über der aktiven Zellfläche messen. Mit der baltic quickCONNECTfixture der Firma balticFuelCells GmbH.

  • Analyse von Bipolarplatten (Flow Field Design), Membran-Elektroden-Einheiten (MEA) und Verpressungkonzepten
  • Bewertung von Betriebsstrategien und Alterungseffekten
  • Lebensdauertest an Brennstoffzellen, Elektrolyseuren und Redox Flow Batterien
  • Kombinierbar mit elektronischer Impendanzspektroskopie (1D-Modell zu 2D-Modell)

Technische Daten

Stromdichte: Bis ± 6 A
Temperatur: Bis 175 °C
Segmentanzahl: Abhängig von Version
Zellspannung 0 bis 2,5 V
Kommunikation: CAN, USB (via Adapter)
Anschlüsse: Bis zu 5 Temperaturfühler

Eine Auswahl unserer Kunden die bereits die DiLiCo current density Messtechnik einsetzen:

Leistungsbeschreibung

Die Produktreihe DiLiCo current density bietet durch ein neues, eigens entwickeltes Messverfahren ein völlig neues Preisniveau für Stromdichte-, Temperatur- und Zellspannungsmessung für das baltic quickCONNECT fixture FC25/100 und FC50/125. Die drei Varianten des Messsystems bieten optimale Vorraussetzungen für den Einsatz in verschiedenen Anwendungsfällen. Egal ob hohe Stromdichten (DiLiCo CUSTOM) oder hohe Temperaturen (DiLiCo HIGH TEMP), für beide Messbedingungen bietet DiLiCo das passende Messsystem. Die dritte Variante (DiLiCo CURR TEMP) bietet die Möglichkeit sowohl die Stromdichte- als auch die Temperaturverteilungen preiswert und präzise zu bestimmen. Alle Messgeräte dieser Produktreihe verfügen zusätzlich über eine integrierte Zellspannungsmessung. Optional können bei jeder Variante des Messsystems bis zu fünf Temperturfühler für die Medienkreisläufe angebunden werden.

DiLiCo current density besteht aus einer segmentierten Sensorschicht bestehend aus Strom- und Temperatursensoren, einer Elektronik zum Auswerten und Übertragen der Messdaten an den Kundenrechner und optional aus einer Software zur Visualisierung und umfangreichen Auswertung der gemessenen Werte für die Stromdichte (Stromstärke bezogen auf die Fläche) und Temperatur. Die segmentierte Sensorschicht wird zwischen zwei Zellen, ohne direkten Kontakt zu den Gasen und Flüssigkeiten, integriert. Jedes Segment misst die Stromstärke und die Temperatur für einen Teil der aktiven Fläche der Membranen-Elektroden-Einheit. Die Fläche aller Segmente entspricht der Fläche der aktiven Reaktionsfläche der Membran.

Als Ergebnis offenbart DiLiCo current density ein zweidimensionales Bild von der Verteilung der Stromdichte und Temperatur über der Fläche der Membran-Elektroden-Einheit. Die Aktivität der Membran, das Design von Bipolarplatten, Dichtungen und weiteren Komponenten lassen sich somit sowohl im Betrieb aber auch außerhalb des Betriebes bewerten. Im Betrieb lassen sich Zustände wie Gasunterversorgung, thermische Hot Spots und Flutung identifizieren, die Zusammenhänge zwischen Befeuchtungssystemen und der Performance der Zellen direkt messen und visualisieren und die Auswirkungen der eindimensionalen Einprägung von Wechselstromanteilen durch die elektrochemische Impedanzspektroskopie auf die zweidimensionale Messung durch DiLiCo current density näher an der aktiven Fläche der Zelle messen.

Lieferumfang

  • DiLiCo current density Sensorschicht
  • Auswerteelektronik mit Software
  • externes Netzteil
  • Gebrauchsanweisung

Anwender

  • Anwender der baltic quickCONNECT fixture FC25/100 und FC50/125

Was versteht man unter der Stromdichte?

Galvanische Zellen bzw. elektrochemische Energiewandler, wie Batterien und Brennstoffzellen, generieren im Inneren an den Elektroden Ladungsträger. Diese Ladungsträger bewegen sich und ein elektrischer Strom fließt zum Leiter (Kabel), der zur Versorgung von elektrischen Verbrauchern dient.

Mit zunehmender Betriebsdauer nimmt jedoch diese Stromstärke immer weiter ab, weil es an den Elektroden und den Elektrolyten zur Alterung kommt. Statt elektrische Energie bereitzustellen, steigen die thermischen Verluste an und erhöht die Erwärmung der Zelle.

Die Stromdichte ist definiert als Stromstärke je Fläche (Querschnittsfläche für die Stromstärke). Die Einheit wird als Ampere je Quadratzentimeter angegeben (A/cm²). Der Hintergrund ist die Vergleichbarkeit von leistungsstarken Brennstoffzellen oder Elektrolyseuren mit mehreren 100 Ampere pro System und kleineren Zellen mit wenigen Ampere.

Was bedeutet die Stromdichte für den Betrieb von elektrochemischen Energiewandlern?

Die Stromdichte ist ein Maß für die Leistungsfähigkeit von galvanischen Zellen, insbesondere von den Elektroden an Brennstoffzellen, Elektrolyseuren und Redox-Flow-Batterien. Je höher der Wert, umso mehr elektrische Leistung kann die Zelle bereitstellen. Für die Weiterentwicklung von galvanischen Zellen sind die Werte der Stromdichte und Zellspannung, die beiden wesentlichen elektrischen Parameter zur Zustandsbewertung galvanischer Zellen, während des Betriebes.

In der Elektrotechnik bilden die beiden Werte auch die Grundlage elektrotechnischer Modellbeschreibungen von galvanischen Zellen. Für die Forschung und Entwicklung bietet die ortsaufgelöste Stromdichtemessung mit seinen vielen Stromsensoren verteilt über die Elektrodenfläche nicht nur einen Stromdichtewert, sondern in der Fläche (x,y-Ausrichtung) betrachtet, viele Stromdichtewerte, sodass jeder Bereich der Zellfläche zu analysieren ist.

Warum es sinnvoll ist Stromdichten in Brennstoffzellen zu messen?

  • Identifikation partieller Unterversorgung über der Membranfläche, die nicht an der Zellspannung zu erkennen ist.
  • Erkennen von lokalen Alterungsdurchbrüchen in bestimmten Membranbereichen.
  • Zum Vergleich verschiedener Material- und Designkonfigurationen.
  • Bewertung der Kontaktwiderstände von Bipolarplatte, Gasdiffusionsschicht, Dichtung und Membran-Elektroden-Einheit für unterschiedliche Anpressdrücke des Stacks.
  • Aussagen zur Qualität der Gasverteilung von Flow Fields.
  • Optimierung von Betriebsparametern durch Bewertung und Anpassung von Zellkomponenten.
  • Identifikation von Flutungs- und Trocknungszuständen.
  • Datennutzung zur Modellbildung und -erweiterung.

Welche zusätzlichen Erkenntnisse kann die Messung der Stromdichte liefern?

Beispiel: Sukzessive Flutung der Brennstoffzelle innerhalb von 60 Sekunden bei konstanter Stromstärke nach Drehzahlsenkung der H2- Rezirkulationspumpe

Die Stromdichte der Membranbereiche am Medieneingang steigen um den Wert, den die Stromdichte Richtung Medienausgang entlang des Strömungskanals während der Flutung absinkt. Die Membran im Eingangsbereich leistet nun bis zu 600 mA/cm² (vorher 470 mA/cm²) gegenüber zirka 380 mA/cm² am Ausgang (vorher 520 mA/cm²). Ein Zusammenhang zwischen der Drehzahl der Rezirkulationspumpe und den veränderten Feuchtigkeitsverhältnissen in den Ausgangsbereichen der Flow Fields konnte abgeleitet werden.

>

Kontaktformular

Hiermit erkläre ich mich einverstanden, dass meine Angaben für die Beantwortung meiner Anfrage verwendet werden dürfen. Weitere Hinweise: Datenschutzerklärung

* Pflichtfelder